Skip to content
eSimNest
Log in

Chad travel eSIM guide

Moov Africa Chad advertises an eSIM counter at N'Djamena airport, passport registration and published data bundles. Canada's travel advice warns that telecommunications are unreliable outside the capital, so plan offline navigation and a separate way to seek help before travelling onwards.

By eSimNest Team · written with AI assistance and checked against the sources listed at the end · facts last checked 2026-10-03

Moov's eSIM can be bought in person at the capital's airport

Moov Africa Chad's eSIM page directs customers to one of its agencies or the counter at N'Djamena airport. It asks for a copy of a valid identity document and explicitly lists a passport among the accepted documents. Staff then provide a QR code for the handset. This is a local operator's own stated purchase route, not a promise that a counter will be open at every arrival time. Ask Moov about its airport hours before flying and carry the original passport as well as a copy, because the page does not clarify whether a copy alone completes every visitor check. Have enough battery and a working internet connection for activation.

Moov's published activation options at the time of checking include a 2,500 CFA franc eSIM with 1 GB for either a classic or a 'paire' (paired) number, a 5,000 CFA franc option with 2 GB for a classic number, and a 10,000 CFA franc option for a paired number described as 3 GB plus a bonus. These are operator prices, so confirm the current offer and what the bonus means before paying. The public page does not state the validity of each introductory allowance. Ask staff to show the active line, its number, the credited data and the expiry on your phone before leaving the counter.

Choose a Moov bundle by validity as well as data

Moov's Kattir Internet page publishes bundles with validity from one hour to 30 days. At the time of checking it listed 1 GB for seven days at 1,250 CFA francs, 4 GB for seven days at 2,500 CFA francs, 10 GB for 30 days at 7,000 CFA francs and 20 GB for 30 days at 11,500 CFA francs. Those four examples show why the cheapest price alone is a poor comparison: some listed offers expire within an hour or overnight. The page also repeats the same short code beside many different bundles, so verify the selected allowance and validity on the operator's live menu before confirming a purchase.

Keep the local line manageable without an app

Moov publishes USSD controls that can be useful when the web is slow: *128# checks credit, *100# checks the bundle, *111*73# displays the number and *111# opens its service menu. Save the codes or ask the agency to write them down. Check both credit and bundle status after any top-up, since an active SIM and an active data allowance are different things. Moov's Kattir page lists *11*125# beside its data offers, but it does not present a unique activation string for each allowance, so use the menu and read the confirmation carefully rather than memorising a price-code pairing.

Treat travel outside N'Djamena as an offline journey

The Government of Canada says telecommunications are very unreliable outside N'Djamena. That is more useful for planning than a broad operator slogan about nationwide high-speed service: the capital's experience cannot be projected onto a road journey. Download maps, phone numbers and accommodation details before departure, and arrange check-ins with a person who knows your route. A larger data allowance cannot compensate for absent service. Canada also says authorities may restrict internet access during demonstrations, so a second local SIM or roaming profile should not be treated as protection against a wider restriction.

The UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office advises against all travel to parts of Chad. It says authorisation from the Ministry of the Interior is required to travel outside N'Djamena and urges professional security advice before considering such travel. Its road guidance warns against driving after dark and says roads are often impassable during the July-to-October rainy season, especially in the south. The connectivity implication is practical: if a route changes because a road closes, an online map or messenger may be unavailable just when it is needed. Confirm the route, required authorisation and safe communications procedure with a local host before leaving the city.

Separate a Chad plan from an outbound roaming offer

Moov Africa Chad has a page labelled roaming, but it defines the service as keeping a Moov Chad number working when its subscriber travels outside Chad. The rates and partner-network instructions there are outbound terms, not the price a visitor's home provider will charge in N'Djamena. Before flying, ask your home network whether Chad is included, what partner network it uses and whether it allows data, calls and texts. Do the same for any planned cross-border journey. Turn on data roaming only for the line that needs it, and keep a downloaded copy of the tariff or plan terms for reference after arrival.

Moov says its local eSIM can provide calls, internet and Moov Money on a compatible phone, and its FAQ says a physical SIM and eSIM can be used together. Apple likewise explains that supported unlocked iPhones can keep a home line and a travel line active, with a chosen data line. This can preserve a home number for important messages while local data uses Moov, but the home line may still generate roaming charges. Check that the handset is unlocked and eSIM-compatible before departure. Moov says transferring its eSIM to another phone is handled on request in an agency, which matters if a handset fails away from N'Djamena.

Keep registration and device assumptions narrow

Moov's eSIM page names a passport as one acceptable identity document for buying its local line. That is a confirmed operator requirement for this product; it does not establish every other operator's SIM rules. The pages cited here do not describe any handset (IMEI) registration rule for visitors, so if bringing a phone for a longer stay, ask the operator or the customs authority directly whether any handset registration applies. The same caution applies to eSIM-only phones: check both the handset's carrier lock and whether a local eSIM can be provisioned before relying on it as the sole means of contact.

There is also a separate immigration formality for a longer visit. The FCDO says visitors staying more than 72 hours must register with the police and gives the Commissariat Central in N'Djamena as the destination, with a passport photograph required. This is not SIM registration, but it can affect the practical arrival schedule if you plan to visit an operator agency and then travel onwards. Verify entry and stay requirements for your nationality before departure, and keep documents available without needing to retrieve them from an email inbox.

Save emergency contacts before the signal weakens

The FCDO lists 2020 for police and 1212 for ambulance and fire in Chad. Save those numbers, the hotel or local host's number and your insurer's emergency contact in the handset and on paper. The FCDO says medical facilities are poor even in N'Djamena, making a clear route to in-person help important. A local Moov line includes voice calling, but Canada's advice says telecommunications are very unreliable outside the capital.

Networks our Chad plans use

These are the operators named on our plans for Chad, taken from the plan data, so the list follows the catalogue.

  • Airtel4G
  • Airtel Tchad S.A. (former: Zain)4G
  • Tigo4G

Best eSIM for Chad by trip length

The cheapest plan that covers the whole trip, for two kinds of use: light use is about 0.3 GB a day (maps and messaging), everyday use is about 1 GB a day (plus social media and some video).

TripLight useEveryday use
3 days1 GB for 7 days
$5.62
3 GB for 30 days
$14.69
7 days3 GB for 30 days
$14.69
1 GB a day for 7 days
$35.35
14 days5 GB for 30 days
$23.04
1 GB a day for 14 days
$70.70
30 days10 GB for 30 days
$42.24
1 GB a day for 30 days
$151.50

Each plan is in the table above with its full terms. Unlimited plans may slow down after a fair-use limit.

How Chad compares with nearby destinations

At a typical $5.00 per GB, Chad costs more than 73% of the destinations we cover.

Prices of the plans made for each destination. The typical price per GB is the median across its plans of 1 GB or more. See how every destination compares in the travel eSIM price index.

DestinationCheapest planTypical price per GBPlans
Réunion$0.47$1.1629
Niger$1.56$4.9523
Malawi$1.56$4.9919
Chad$1.56$5.0018
Togo$1.56$15.8216

Chad eSIM questions

Can a visitor obtain a local eSIM at N'Djamena airport?
Moov Africa Chad says its eSIM is available at its airport counter or at an agency. Confirm opening hours before your flight and take a valid passport; the operator asks for a copy of accepted identification and activates by QR code.
How much does Moov's Chad eSIM cost?
At the time of checking, the operator listed a 2,500 CFA franc eSIM with 1 GB and higher introductory options. Ask staff for the current price, allowance and validity because its public page does not state every introductory pack's expiry.
Will mobile data work reliably outside N'Djamena?
Do not assume it will. Canada's official Chad advice describes telecommunications outside the capital as very unreliable. Download maps, agree check-ins and carry contact details offline before taking an authorised journey.
Are Moov's roaming rates the price for my overseas SIM in Chad?
No. Moov's roaming page describes a Moov Chad customer travelling abroad. Your home provider controls the price and availability of a foreign SIM or eSIM used inside Chad.
Which numbers should I save for emergencies in Chad?
The UK FCDO lists police on 2020 and ambulance or fire on 1212. Keep those numbers on paper too.
Do I need to register a phone by IMEI after arrival?
The cited pages do not describe a visitor handset registration rule. Ask the operator or the customs authority for the rule that applies to your handset and length of stay.

Sources

Facts in this guide were compared with these pages on 2026-10-03. Rules and prices change, so check the official page before you rely on a detail.